HERO

Who are your heroes? The superstars in sports, the rich and famous? Do you watch them on TV or buy tickets to their games. Do you read about them in magazines or listen to them on talk shows and interviews. That is what most people do and it is ok, I guess.

I am one of the fortunate ones. I see my heroes everyday. I work with them, play with them, go to their homes. I know their children and they know mine. They are living breathing examples of who I aspire to be, and I pray I do not ever let them down.

On the street when you see them you think they are normal average guys. Some of them may be a little arrogant or slightly anti-social. You would never know who they are or what they do. You would never know the deeds they have done or the Sacrifices they make every day so that you can freely walk around this country and possible criticize them without knowing it.

They place themselves on the Alter of Freedom and are willing to pay the ultimate Sacrifice. Lately, the price is often paid……and why do they do this? Why are they so willing to give up all they love so very much? Are they mindless warmongers looking for thrill or glory?

The ignorant would think so, and maybe in the beginning when they were young it was so……but not now.

What will cause a man to run into a hail of bullets that just cut down another man’s life right in front of him? Fury, rage, anger, hate……no, none of these have enough depth or weight.

In the midst of massive amounts of trauma and horror only one thing will prevail…..love.

What makes these men heroes is not how good they can shoot or how strong or how fast they are. It is in their ability to demonstrate through their actions, love. Love for their brothers.

“Tonight someone will surely die, but it will not be you my brother, I will go into the breach first.”

This is what they all say….in their minds, for they would never say this to their brothers out loud. Because in their hearts they know their brothers are thinking the same thing and would try even harder to beat them into the breach.

What I am writing about is not a concept or a story that was told to me by someone else. I have seen it, and words do not adequately describe what they do without thinking.

You hear people use the phrase “ I would die for you” in movies, books, and sometimes even in life from others that love you. It is a tall order for someone to say and even taller for one to actually do.

My heroes live that saying daily…..without saying it. I am honored to have walked among them, fought with them, spilled blood, sweat, tears and prayers with them. I stand in awe of their actions everyday.

If your hero does not meet this description, find another hero. Life is too hard and too short to not have living examples of who and what you want to be.

Tom Spooner 2006

This entry was posted in Soldier's Heart and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HERO

  1. Eloquent, touching and true. Your words reminds me of these: “From this day to the ending of the world, but we in it shall be remembered — We few, we happy few, we band of brothers; For he today that sheds his blood with me Shall be my brother.”
    — William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

